top of page

My Son, the Prince of Fashion


(Read the article I'm talking about here.)

A beautiful long form magazine article that I highly recommend.

I'm always loathe to set people up for disappointment by recommending things hyperbolically, I really hate that.

But I did have an emotionally satisfying experience reading this. It is long form but I found it well worth it. Satisfying ending. Great language.

Of course, no surprise, it's by Michael Chabon, for GQ.

All I feel compelled to say is that, in the most elegant and uniquely subtle way possible, every word of this is brimming with a father's love. These days, this is a subject that really moves me.

This piece made me think of a LOT of people!

Richert Schnorr, you just have to find time to read this.

Richie Jackson and Jordan Roth, you too. You'll see!

(Richie and Carol Jackson, note the paragraph where he describes his son's birth order!) Carol, you will love this.

Marie Frederickson, Maddie Corman, Anastasia Barzee, Irene Miller... mothers of some of the most beautiful sons I know.

For Lex Liang, Barrett Hong, Bud Coleman, Clarke Thorell, Cortes Alexander, Daniel Orlandi, Christopher Lawrence, Kim Wilcox, Mailey Shimon, Finch Mathison, Theo Why, Sawyer DeVuyst, Adam Westfall Cochran, Raymond Miller, Orville Mendoza, Eric Cheung, MaryAnn Hu,Michael Lee, Michael Urie, Michael Ferraro, Wilson Cruz, Alec Mapa, Grant Chang, Sharon Wheatley, Kerry O'Malley, Lizzie Larsen, Tim Federle, J William McDaniel, Jim Cox, Laverne Cox, Troy Anicete, Paul Rudnick, Jon Wan, Jon Norman Schneider, Charles Busch, Malan Breton, Denis O'Hare,Dennis Hanley, Jules Rosskam, Justin Root, Harvey Fierstein:

Something we share is in this article - it could be being a father/parent, being a son, fashion, negotiating being different, or a combination. Or just cause I know you like a good read. Love you all.

Maureen O'Brien, reading this makes me miss you a lot.

If you do get to read it, let me know! I'm dying to discuss it with someone!

xoxobdw

bottom of page